I Am Back!!


Presence #37

It has been a few weeks since my last post.  After my April show opening, I decided to take a few weeks off to re-energize. My goal this year is to seek balance in my life. Between my teaching and painting profession, my to-do list often piles up. Once I get started, I never seem to stop. I figured the first step to realizing my goal of balance was to allow myself to take a break every once in a while. I took my break from painting towards the end of the school year in hopes that I will keep painting more in the summer when I have time off from teaching.

I decided to push the envelope with Presence #37.  I have been eying the empty masking tape rolls on my shelf  for months now. I knew I wanted to incorporate these rolls into my paintings, but solving the puzzle took quite a while. About a month ago, an image popped into my head of one of my Presence paintings with a hole cut through the drips. Inserting an empty cardboard roll into the canvas allows for the canvas to remain taut. This hole also allows the painting to interact more with its surroundings. Depending upon the wall color, this painting could change in presentation.

Presence #37 Side-view

One thought on “I Am Back!!

Leave a Reply

