Reflection XXX

Reflection XXX

Yet another “Cold Day,” has allowed me time in my studio. Uninterrupted studio time is extremely valuable and this has been like a dream come true! Two days to play and try new things!

I have combined colored strips in Reflection paintings before, but never in this manner. The three strips are thin and I have overlapped them in a way that mimics the overlapping of mountains you might view from afar. When looking at mountains from a distance the values of each layer of mountains can be slightly different. Reflection XXX is my abstracted interpretation of this concept. I have been inspired recently by what I consider to be a retro color scheme of oranges,variations of blues and greens, a neutral here and there. I am not sure what sparked this interest; perhaps just a need to try something different.

Leave a Reply

