Reflection XX

Reflection XX

I made it to painting number twenty in the Reflection series!! After working with two new paintings yesterday, I decided to create another Reflection painting. The experimentation from the other two paintings rubbed off on Reflection XX. Prior to this painting, I felt that the series was getting a bit stale. As I was about to lay down the solid piece of handmade paper, I suddenly thought, “Wait a minute, why does this always have to be a solid sheet?” So I began cutting and piecing together several possible compositions and settled on the one above. I also decided not to make a mesh print on this painting. I painted a section of mesh and frayed the edges, which contrasts beautifully with the deep blue-green area. The painting feels refreshingly exciting and brings the series back to life!

Here is a visual update of one of my experimental paintings from yesterday. It is not yet complete, but I am getting somewhere!

Experimental Painting

2 thoughts on “Reflection XX

Leave a Reply

