Found

Found

Found was a spontaneous painting that came about as I was trying to tidy my studio.  The painting is 16×20 acrylic on 1.5 inch wrapped  canvas.  The island shaped areas are the result of all the excess paint that either was wiped by my hands, paintbrush, or palette knife on the plastic that covers the table where I usually work.  The layers had gotten so thick on the plastic that I simply pealed up the sheets of paint to find this beautiful, energetic, abstract situation underneath.  I decided I had to do something with it!  Although it is hard to see, there is a thick, textured layer of gloss over the whole painting.  The gloss is easier to see when the image is larger so just click on the image above to see more detail.  It is a quite a sight to see in person.  It is yet another direction for me to take, but that keeps me busy!  I love the exploration of new ideas.

4 thoughts on “Found

  1. lindahalcombfineart

    About 2 years ago I read about a new palette for acrylic artists (sorry I don’t remember the name!) and it allowed you to build up a layer of acrylic paint just in this way. You could then peel it off and use it for collage. Yours is a striking piece of art.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

